Pakistan Women Triumph in T20 Series, Despite DLS Hurdle

WhatsApp Group Join Now

A Historic Victory: Pakistan Clinches T20 Series 2-1 Against New Zealand

In a thrilling showdown at John Davies Oval on Saturday, the Pakistan women’s cricket team secured a historic triumph, winning the three-match T20 series against New Zealand 2-1. This victory marked a significant milestone as the Green Shirts became the first Asian team to claim a T20 series victory on New Zealand soil.

Dominating Start: Victories in the First Two Matches

The journey to this historic win commenced with convincing victories in the first two matches. The Green Shirts emerged triumphant by seven wickets and 10 runs in the initial encounters against the Kiwis, showcasing their prowess on foreign grounds.

A Glimpse into the Final Clash

Despite an admirable performance in the first two matches, the Nida Dar-led side faced a setback in the third and final match, narrowly losing by six runs via the DLS method. Battling it out at the crease, Pakistan set a commendable target of 137 runs with Sidra Ameen leading the charge with 43 runs, supported by their captain’s contribution of 25.

Rain-Curtailed Finale and Individual Achievements

New Zealand, having already lost the series, displayed resilience in the final match. Suzie Bates played a crucial role, scoring an unbeaten 51 off 42 balls, while Amelia Kerr added 35 from 31 balls. Unfortunately, rain intervened, concluding the game prematurely with the Kiwis declared winners by six runs under the DLS method.

In the individual spotlight, Suzie Bates claimed the player of the match award, while the coveted player of the series title went to Pakistan’s Fatima Sana.

Record-Breaking Feat by Nida Dar

Nida Dar, the captain of the Pakistani side, made history in her 141st T20 match, becoming the player with the most T20 appearances for Pakistan. This remarkable feat surpassed the previous record held by Bismah Maroof, who played 140 T20 Internationals.

ODI Series on the Horizon

As the T20 series concludes, the focus now shifts to the upcoming three-match ODI series as part of the ICC Women’s Championship. The clash between Pakistan and New Zealand is set to kick off on December 12 in Queenstown, followed by matches on December 15 and 18 in Christchurch.

In summary, Pakistan’s women’s cricket team has etched their names in history with a groundbreaking T20 series victory in New Zealand, showcasing skill, resilience, and determination on the cricketing stage.

Also Read

Leave a Comment